Skip to main content

Internal faculty funding

The Office of the Vice-President Research, Innovation and International co-ordinates a number of internal funding programs designed to support research by University of Ontario Institute of Technology faculty, and reward research excellence.

Note: Notice of Intent for funding is due Wednesday, January 31.

Research Excellence Award
This award recognizes excellence in research achieved by our university's faculty members. Two Research Excellence Awards are presented annually.

SSHRC Small Research Grants
The university receives funds from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) Institutional Grant program to support research activities by our full-time faculty members that enhance research capacity in the social sciences.

Dr. Deborah Saucier Early Researcher Award
The Dr. Deborah Saucier Early Researcher Award is a research grant that was established to honour the former Provost’s commitment to research discovery and innovation at our university. The purpose of this award is to support early-career researchers to develop competitive, high‐quality programs of research, scholarship and creative activity, and to build strong records of achievement in their fields.

Application Form Notice of Intent

Research Excellence Chairs Program

Our university has established a Research Excellence Chairs Program to recognize and reward the high‐quality research and scholarly achievements of our faculty members. The program is designed to enable accomplished scholars to complete a major research program or project.


Research Infrastructure Fund

The purpose of this fund is to provide financial support to tenured and tenure‐track faculty members to enhance their research capacity at our university. The fund will support the purchase of research equipment, operating and maintenance costs of equipment, and other related infrastructure costs required to acquire and maintain research equipment.

University of Ontario Institute of Technology logo